January 10, 2018

MHAs Barry Petten and Jim Lester endorse Ches Crosbie for PC Leader

St. John’s, NL (January 10, 2018) – Today, MHAs Barry Petten and Jim Lester are endorsing Ches Crosbie in his bid for the leadership of the PC Party. 

“Ches has demonstrated the ability to lead a unified, revitalized PC Party that will be well-prepared to defeat the Liberal government in 2019. He has the intellect and passion to serve both our party and our province in a very substantial way. For these reasons, I am pleased to endorse Ches Crosbie in his bid to be the next leader of our PC Party.” said Petten. 

“I am excited to endorse Ches Crosbie in his PC leadership bid. I firmly believe that, with Ches as leader, we will be able to form a government in 2019 that can grow our economy, restore public confidence in our democratic institutions, and improve the quality of life for every Newfoundlander and Labradorian.” said Lester.

Barry Petten was elected as the Member of the House of Assembly for Conception Bay South in 2015. He is the Official Opposition critic for Transportation and Works; Advanced Education, Skills and Labour; Environment and Climate Change; and the Multi-Materials Stewardship Board.

Jim Lester is the newest member of the PC caucus, having been recently elected as the Member of the House of Assembly for Mount Pearl North in the November 2017 by-election. He is the Official Opposition critic for Lands and Wildlife (includes Forestry, Crown Lands and Agrifoods), and the Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation.

Since launching his campaign, Crosbie has also been endorsed by former Premiers Tom Marshall and Tom Rideout, former federal cabinet minister Loyola Hearn, former provincial speaker Roger Fitzgerald, former provincial cabinet ministers Dan Crummell and Joseph Goudie, SOPAC Chairperson Linda Bishop, disabilities advocate Paul Walsh, and Memorial University’s PC and Conservative student associations.

The next leader of the PC Party will be selected during their party convention scheduled for April 27-29, 2018. Provincial residents must sign up with the party by January 28, 2018 in order to vote for their choice of leader.



Devin Drover
Communications and Policy Advisor